Line(s) of the Day #WutheringHeights

IMG_3873

I have not broken your heart – you have broken it; and in breaking it, you have broken mine.

As said by the intensely tortured Heathcliff in Emily Bronte’s Gothic classic Wuthering Heights (1847). Famously set in the Moors of Yorkshire, the quote highlights the complex relationship between Heathcliff and Catherine Earnshaw, which drives the heart of the book. The gorgeous cover is entitled Figures in a Storm by one of my favourite artists. Percivus has nothing to do with the story but wanted to be included. It is a Penguin Classic after all.

33 thoughts on “Line(s) of the Day #WutheringHeights

    • There are countless to choose from but it’s the one that stood out most to me. It sums up how much their sadness is intertwined. And yes. And if you ask him, he’s the one that lends me his books ha.

    • You should go back to it. It’s tough to read at times but it’s really rewarding. The character studies are incredible. I’ve never read a book with as much layered intensity.

  1. Nice post. Wuthering Heights has got some unbelievably beautiful and emotionally powerful quotes. My favourites are Catherine: “Nelly, I am Heathcliff, he’s always, always on my mind – not as a pleasure, anymore than I am always a pleasure to myself – but as my own being…” and Heathcliff: “You know as well as I do, that for every thought she spends on Linton, she spends a thousand on me!”
    And, ahh, what a cute little penguin you’ve got there! I have a weakness for soft penguins (I have one myself, nameless as yet, but he is saying “hello” to yours).

  2. Pingback: Line(s) of the Day #WutheringHeights | Alex Raphael

Leave a Reply

