Film Quizzes – Denzel Washington

Along with Tom Hanks and Leonardo di Caprio (parts 1 and 2), Denzel Washington has long been one of my favourite actors. The two-time Oscar winner has been making quality films since the 1980s and at 62, is as prolific as ever. The New York star will probably lose out to Casey Affleck in the Best Actor nomination at the Academy Awards tonight, but he really was astonishing in Fences. As good a performance as you will see (and kudos to Viola Davis who is incredible too). How many of the films below can you work out?

film-quizzes-denzel-washington-film-1 1.(1980s)

film-quizzes-denzel-washington-film-2 2. (1980s)

film-quizzes-denzel-washington-film-3 3. (1990s)

film-quizzes-denzel-washington-film-4 4. (1990s)

film-quizzes-denzel-washington-film-5 5. (1990s)

film-quizzes-denzel-washington-film-6 6. (1990s)

film-quizzes-denzel-washington-film-7 7. (1990s)

film-quizzes-denzel-washington-film-8 8. (2000s)

film-quizzes-denzel-washington-film-9 9. (2000s)

film-quizzes-denzel-washington-film-10 10. (2000s)

film-quizzes-denzel-washington-film-11 11. (2000s)

film-quizzes-denzel-washington-film-12 12. (2010+)

Answers below

1. Cry Freedom  (1987)

2. Glory  (1989)

3. Malcolm X  (1992)

4. Much Ado About Nothing  (1993)

5. Philadelphia  (1993)

6. Courage Under Fire  (1996)

7. The Hurricane  (1999)

8. Remember the Titans  (2000)

9. Training Day  (2001)

10. Antwone Fisher  (2002)

11. Man on Fire  (2004)

12. Unstoppable  (2010)

20 thoughts on “Film Quizzes – Denzel Washington

  1. Perfect score which I guess is a tribute to Mr Washington himself. Be hopeful Alex, it’s a tight race but I think Washington will get it. Albeit Affleck winning is the most probable upset of the night, I have faith.

      • I was surprised by Arrival winning sound. I was thinking Hacksaw Ridge might get some tech awards so I was even more surprised and thrilled immediately after when Best Sound Editing was given to Hacksaw Ridge allowing Kevin O’Connell finally to win for his 21st nomination. I thought it was a tight race but I really thought the Academy would put Washington into the Three Times Club. Judging by his face I think he’d been hoping to but Affleck was always a chance of causing an upset and delivered an excellent performance.

      • Yep. He thanked his Mum who had passed away. Don’t know when but couldn’t help wondering if he’d won an earlier nomination would she have been alive to see it.

  2. I got 4. I love him too! How disappointing. I’m going to bone up on my DW film knowledge. Great quiz. I’m hoping one day you’ll rig, I mean post one I can ace. You might not know this but I’m a bit of an expert on all the Godfather movies 😜 I’ve also seen every Arnold Schwarzenegger movie ever made, and I never tell white lies. Wow, you’re really cute.

Leave a Reply

