Line(s) of the Day #Gladiators

Gladiators TV show

Do you feel the power of the Gladiators?
Can you face the challenge of the champions?
Do you have the courage of a hero?
Do you have the will and the skill?

Taken from the opening lyrics to the theme tune of the Gladiators theme tune. The show about regular members of the public coming up against elite level athletes in different events became hugely popular. Debuting in the UK in 1992, the show featured 34 gladiators in its eight-year run, including my favourites of Wolf and Jet. A remake of the show in 2008 was a failure and cancelled after two series.

12 thoughts on “Line(s) of the Day #Gladiators

  1. Oh my god I loved Gladiators!! Saturday night TV is NOT the same anymore. I remember watching this, Stars in Their Eyes, The Generation Game – now THAT was entertainment not all this bloody X Factor lol.

    “you can go on my first whistle..”

    • I know. I wish he’d done my school’s sports day. Did you have a favourite challenge or gladiator? I had the toys and everything. I used to watch Blind Date too. That was hilarious.

      • Blind Date!!! That too of course πŸ™‚ I have the theme music now going round my head!

        Wolf of course! Scary old Wolf ha ha. I’m assuming Jet for you? πŸ™‚

      • Jet was lovely. My first crush. Not just me by the sound of it ha. Wolf was great. Loved it when he got so mad. Blind date was classic. That look when someone realised they’d chosen the wrong person was classic TV. And Cilla was such a brilliant host. So funny.

    • I would have loved that. I heard kids used to ask for their money back if he didn’t make an appearance on one of the shows. Wouldn’t be surprised. The other bit of trivia that cracked me up was that Shadow used to drive down to the show in his Gladiator gear haha.

Leave a Reply

