David Bowie Tribute

David Bowie gif.gif

It was with real sadness that I heard of the passing of David Bowie. Perhaps the biggest tribute I can pay to the Rock God is that I really thought he would be around forever. I’ve always been aware of what’s going on around us and that geniuses don’t live any longer than the rest of us. Indeed a lot of the time they are gone sooner. But with Bowie it really did seem as he was different and that the regular rules of life didn’t apply to him.

His music certainly sounded like no one else. Constantly reinventing and rejuvenating the industry, it felt like he brought his creativity from a different place from the rest of us. As though he had lived on another planet and was sharing his experiences with us.

That creativity didn’t just limit itself to music. Bowie was a talented actor, artist, record producer and fashion trendsetter who was always ahead of the game. But ultimately, it will be his music that will outlive us all. Spanning six different decades, selling 140 million records, releasing 27 albums and over 100 singles, his numbers are up there with the very best.

But like with all greats, it isn’t about the numbers and this quote by his biographer Thomas Forget says it all. “Because he has succeeded in so many different styles of music, it is almost impossible to find a popular artist today that has not been influenced by David Bowie.”

Farewell Major Tom, Ziggy Stardust, Aladdin Sane and the Thin White Duke. You were one of the all-time entertainers, visionaries and innovators. And you made us all want to be Heroes.

37 thoughts on “David Bowie Tribute

  1. Beautifully put, Alex – this is sad loss not just to music lovers but innovators in general. It will be a long time before we see the likes of David Bowie again – possibly not in our lifetimes. As somebody said, we should be grateful that we lived at the same time.
    This art work is great too I wish I could find a way to slow down the changes a little though!

    • There won’t be anyone else like him. That really was a wonderful quote by Simon Pegg.
      “If you’re sad today, just remember the world is over 4 billion years old and you somehow managed to exist at the same time as David Bowie.”

      The artwork really is something else. It does go a little fast yes. Where’s a slow internet connection when you need one!

      • Happens with all of us. There were some other lovely tributes too, so hard to keep up. I remember Pegg well as I watched him a lot in his sitcom Spaced and one or two films, and even saw him on stage when he supported U2 at a gig I went to.

  2. I heard he was a great artist. Then I listened some of his songs and I can say he was great. I’ve noticed the sadness in your words and I think is normal. Your words are very touching. But he’s a star and now he’s among stars. He will never die.

    • Thanks Amanda. He really has left behind such a phenomenal legacy. I will be doing another post celebrating his music. But before anything, I just to try and articulate the numbness I was feeling.

  3. Pingback: Gr8at: David Bowie | Alex Raphael

  4. What a fantastic tribute to a sweet, humane artist, actor and fabulous great musician, Alex. You know it is strange that many didn’t know he was in at least 6 movies, Alex. I liked that he portrayed the great inventor, Tesla, in the movie called, “The Prestige.” (2006)
    Did you see my November post where I included his portrayal in the “Labyrinth?” My brother re-posted this since it was also a tribute to my living grandson, Skyler who turned 11 on November 4, 2015. 🙂 Thanks, Alex for sharing some things I did not know about David Bowie.

    • I loved The Prestige and it was great to see him in it. I should try and see The Man Who Fell to Earth too. He had such a presence it was no great surprise he stood out on screen.

  5. Pingback: #GarryShandlingTribute | Alex Raphael

  6. Pingback: Film Quizzes: 2016 Films | Alex Raphael

Leave a Reply

