Film Quizzes: Previous Best Picture Winners from the 1930s Onwards

With the 87th annual Academy Awards, there’s no way I couldn’t do a quiz to celebrate. I just had to top last year’s themed quiz. And so today’s quiz isn’t just a regular six films, but a bonus special with a film each from the past seven decades.  Any predictions for this year? Any notable omissions from any of the lists? As always feel free to share any thoughts or comments under the answers below.

Film Quiz - Previous Best Picture Winners from each decade Film 1  (1930s)

Film Quiz - Previous Best Picture Winners from each decade Film 2  (1940s)

Film Quiz - Previous Best Picture Winners from each decade Film 3  (1950s)

Film Quiz - Previous Best Picture Winners from each decade Film 4   (1960s)

Film Quiz - Previous Best Picture Winners from each decade Film 5  (1970s)

Film Quiz - Previous Best Picture Winners from each decade Film 6  (1980s)

Film Quiz - Previous Best Picture Winners from each decade Film 7  (1990s)

Film Quiz - Previous Best Picture Winners from each decade Film 8  (2000s)

Film Quiz - Previous Best Picture Winners from each decade Film 9  (2010s)

Answers below

1. It happened One Night  (1934)

2. Rebecca  (1940)

3. All about Eve  (1950)

4. Lawrence of Arabia  (1962)

5. Annie Hall  (1977)

6. Gandhi  (1982)

7. Forest Gump  (1994)

8. The Hurt Locker  (2009)

9. The King’s Speech  (2010)

40 thoughts on “Film Quizzes: Previous Best Picture Winners from the 1930s Onwards

  1. 6/9- not too bad, but I couldn’t remember the first two and then my mind went a complete blank on Annie Hall-duh! I wonder who will be joining the ranks of best picture tonight?

    • My favourite Woody Allen film. I think Boyhood will win Best Picture, Redmayne Best Actor, Norton Best Supporting, Moore Best Actress, Nightcrawler Best Script, Stone Best Suporting, Linklater Best Director

    • The Godfathers, Jaws, Apocalypse Now, Alien, Clockwork Orange, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, Taxi Driver, The Exorcist, Rocky. Not a bad decade to start with at all. All about Eve really is incredible if you get the chance.

  2. I got all of them right except for Annie Hall as I haven’t seen it. I just saw the first three you listed here recently as part of my Blindspot series, my fave is All About Eve!

  3. I couldn’t guess ‘All about Eve’ and ‘The King’s Speech’, but got all the rest. 7/9. I haven’t seen ‘All about Eve’, but have watched all the rest, including ‘The King’s Speech’. Amazingly, 6/8 films I’ve watched, mentioned here, happen to be my all time favourite films ever. Love ‘The Hurt Locker’ and ‘The King’s Speech’ too, but not in the same vein as ‘Rebecca’, ‘Annie hall’, ‘Forest Grump’, etc etc …

Leave a Reply

