Line(s) of the Day #FatherTed

Father Ted

Father Dougal McGuire: I’ve never met a celebrity before.
Father Ted Crilly: You met the Pope.
Father Dougal McGuire: Did I?
Father Ted Crilly: Yes, do you not remember that time we were in Rome?
Father Dougal McGuire: That was the Pope? That old fella living in the art gallery?
Father Ted Crilly: The Vatican, Dougal! The Vatican!
Father Dougal McGuire: Still, he’s not a celebrity in the true sense of the word.
Father Ted Crilly: He’s God’s representative on Earth, Dougal!
Father Dougal McGuire: You’d think he’d be taller.

19 thoughts on “Line(s) of the Day #FatherTed

      • Yes! I couldn’t remember his name but very funny. I also used to like the Graham Norton character, Father Liam I think? With his poor, tortured Catholic Youth Group that finally made a break for Uruguay.

        My son bought all the Father Ted DVDs with his Christmas money one year, so it’s one of the few series that I own 🙂

      • I think that’s how Graham Norton got his big break. I have all the DVDs too. I like the extras too. Could you choose a favourite episode?

      • The first one is always good because of the Fun Fair itself.

        I really appreciated the Eurovision one more after reading about the actual contest on blogs this year.

        The Lent one was funny, and then when someone was visiting and Father Jack had to act somewhat sober 🙂

        So no, not just one. How about you?

      • I even have a book with the transcripts and the writers give an individual introduction to each one.

        Those all all classics. Mine is the one where they have to kick Bishop Brennan up the ass. This scene especially

      • I think I know what I will be watching tonight 🙂

        We went on to Black Books after this one, and then I moved on to Doc Martin.

      • Black Books is very funny too. I watched them all at uni. A very different kind of bookshop for sure. The episode where Manny plays the piano is my absolute favourite. Bill Bailey is a very talented pianist in real life too.

  1. The awful thing about this Alex it sounds like the kind of talk that can go on in our house once in a while when the outer reaches of the family drop by from where ever it is(you know the place) they come from ! luv’em!

Leave a Reply

